F.A.Q.

ABOUT FOR FOREST

What is FOR FOREST?

FOR FOREST – The Voice for Trees is a global initiative that focuses on the protection of forests and on solutions to challenge the climate crisis. FOR FOREST has its roots in the well-known “forest in the stadium”, Austria’s largest art intervention in public space up to now. The art project “FOR FOREST – The Unending attraction of Nature” touched many people and started discussions about environmental issues. FOR FOREST – The Voice for Trees brings people and institutions together in order to attract attention to forests and to climate change.

What are FOR FOREST’s goals?

Attracting attention & creating solutions to challenge the climate crisis
FOR FOREST gives the forest a loud voice and attracts attention by supporting projects and initiatives that focus on forests in a sustainable, eco-friendly and creative way. FOR FOREST gives the trees a stage, especially through artistic projects.
Forests are the breath of the earth and acting responsibly towards our planet is the only way to go. For there can be no life without trees.

Permanent Residence

Villa FOR FOREST
Viktringer Ring 21
A-9020 Klagenfurt am Wörthersee

WHAT HAS FOR FOREST PLANNED FOR 2020?

The Austrian World Summit in Vienna (17 September)

FOR FOREST is a Leading Partner of the climate conference „Austrian World Summit“ on 17th of September 2020 in the Hofburg of Vienna. The AWS is under the patronage of Arnold Schwarzenegger and of federal president Van der Bellen who initiated this international climate conference together to ensure more climate action on every level.

Visit austrianworldsummit.com for further information about the programme and about the kirtag in Vienna.

The Filmhof Festival in Asparn (July – 02 October 2020)

This festival is known for its diverse plays and cabarets. This year, it will also present a play based on a book by Mira Lobe: The Little City Roundabout. In this story, the mayor of a small city at the edge of a forest is planning on clearing the forest to expand his city. The children of the city and a little wood-spirit will not let this happen and come together to keep their beloved forest.

The Filmhof Festival has a green event certification.

The Climate-Culture-Pavilion (Spring/Summer 2021)

Around 10 trees from the art project “FOR FOREST – The Unending Attraction of Nature” will move to the Freiheitsplatz in Graz in spring/summer 2021 to be placed in the forest of the Climate-Culture-Pavilion. This project realised by Breathe Earth Collective for the city’s Kulturjahr is a prototype for cooling cities down. The Climate-Culture-Pavilion will be a platform that will connect different initiatives and projects and give them the possibility to experience and discuss climate-related topics.

Events in the FOR FOREST villa

Many different concerts, readings, plays and discussions take place in the FOR FOREST villa. These events are organized by the Verein Innenhofkultur.

For further information visit our events page.

THE STORY BEHIND FOR FOREST

What was the art installation “FOR FOREST – The Unending Attraction of Nature”?

“FOR FOREST – The Unending Attraction of Nature” turned the Wörthersee Stadium of Klagenfurt, which can hold up to 30,000 spectators, into a scene of contemporary art and nature.

Inspired by the drawing “The Unending Attraction of Nature” (1970/71) by Max Peintner (born in 1937), Klaus Littmann placed 299 trees on the football pitch from 8 September to 27 October 2019. From the stadium stands, visitors were able to admire the spectacle of trees, day and night, under natural light or by floodlight. The project sought to become a memorial, reminding us that nature, which we so often take for granted, may someday only be found in specially designated spaces— as is already the case with some animals in zoos.

The whole stadium became a work of art for two months and opened discussions about ecology, art, nature and superficiality while attracting attention to environmental issues. People were given a chance to question themselves, their perception as well as what seems to be self-evident in our world.

“Nature itself is the synthesis of the arts, and for precisely this reason, it is worthy of this small dedication.” (Klaus Littmann)

Who initiated the project?

The project was initiated by the artist and international contemporary art mediator Klaus Littmann (Littmann Kulturprojekte: www.klauslittmann.com). Klaus Littmann first saw the pencil drawing “The Unending Attraction of Nature” by Max Peintner (born 1937) over 30 years ago and has since held on to the idea of turning this striking dystopia into a reality.

How was the forest assembled to imitate a natural forest?

Enea GmbH (Rapperswil / Switzerland) was responsible for the trees in the stadium and the design of the forest. Enea Landscape Architecture is a prominent, world-renowned company for landscape architecture, specialised in custom-built gardens and parks for both private and public spaces. The forest was modelled on the colours and textures of a European mixed woodland thanks to 299 trees, 8 – 14m tall, that were sourced from selected tree nurseries. Because they grew in tree nurseries, the trees were transplanted every 4 to 5 years and were therefore prepared for the transplantation in the stadium.

What different types of trees were in the stadium?

Enzo Enea chose 16 different types of trees for FOR FOREST:

How was the installation technically realised?

Before the installation was put into place, load distribution boards were laid across the entire surface in order to protect the stadium turf. The trees were then placed according to Enzo Enea’s design, the root bales were tied to a wooden construction using securing straps. An authentic forest floor was then created between the trees.

F.A.Q.

ALLGEMEIN ZU FOR FOREST

Was ist FOR FOREST?

FOR FOREST – The Voice for Trees ist eine globale Initiative, die auf den Schutz der Wälder fokussiert und Lösungen gegen die Klimakrise aufzeigt. FOR FOREST hat seine Wurzeln im weltbekannt gewordenen „Wald im Stadion“, Österreichs bisher größten Kunstintervention im öffentlichen Raum. Das Kunstprojekt „FOR FOREST – Die ungebrochene Anziehungskraft der Natur“ hat Menschen berührt und dazu animiert, sich über Umweltthemen auszutauschen. Rund um das Projekt sind zahlreiche neue Ideen entstanden. FOR FOREST – The Voice for Trees nimmt sich dieser Ideen an, vernetzt Menschen und Institutionen und stellt sich dem Klimawandel entgegen.

Welche Ziele hat FOR FOREST?

Attracting attention & creating solutions to challenge the climate crisis
FOR FOREST gibt dem Wald eine starke Stimme und erzeugt Aufmerksamkeit durch die Unterstützung und die Förderung von Projekten und Initiativen, die nachhaltig, umweltschonend und kreativ im Sinne des Waldes handeln. FOR FOREST gibt Bäumen eine Bühne, vor allem im Rahmen von Kunstprojekten. Wälder sind der Atem der Erde und der verantwortungsvolle Umgang mit unserem Planeten ist alternativlos. Ohne Bäume kein Leben.

Permanent Residence

Villa FOR FOREST
Viktringer Ring 21
A-9020 Klagenfurt am Wörthersee

WAS HAT FOR FOREST 2020 VOR?

Das Austrian World Summit in Wien (17. September)

FOR FOREST ist Leading Partner der Klimakonferenz „Austrian World Summit“ am 17. September in der Wiener Hofburg. Arnold Schwarzenegger und Bundespräsident Alexander Van der Bellen haben diese internationale Klimakonferenz gemeinsam ins Leben gerufen, um für mehr Climate Action auf allen Ebenen zu sorgen.

Weitere Informationen zum Programm und zum Kirtag in Wien findet ihr hier: austrianworldsummit.com

Das Filmhof Festival in Asparn (Juli – 02. Oktober 2020)

Neben Theaterstücke und Kabaretts hat das Festival eine neue Theaterproduktion nach dem Buch von Mira Lobe inszeniert: Das Städtchen Drumherum. In dieser Geschichte will der Bürgermeister einer kleinen Stadt am Waldrand den Wald roden lassen, um eine größere Stadt zu bauen. Die Kinder der Stadt und der Waldgeist Frau Hullewulle kommen aber zusammen, um den Wald zu verteidigen.

Das Filmhof Festival in Asparn an der Zaya ist auch grün zertifiziert.

Der Klima-Kultur-Pavillon in Graz (Frühling/Sommer 2021)

Rund zehn Bäume aus dem Kunstprojekt „FOR FOREST – Die ungebrochene Anziehungskraft der Natur“ werden in den Wald des KLIMA-KULTUR-PAVILLON in Graz im Frühling/Sommer 2021 gesetzt. Das Projekt wird vom Breathe Earth Collective im Rahmen des Kulturjahres Graz umgesetzt und wird als Prototyp zur Kühlung der Stadt am Freiheitsplatz in Graz installiert. Der KLIMA-KULTUR-PAVILLON wird verschiedenen Initiativen und Projekten eine Plattform zum Vernetzen, Engagieren und Erleben von Klimathemen bieten.

Veranstaltungen in der Villa FOR FOREST (laufend)

Die Villa FOR FOREST bleibt weiter ein Veranstaltungsort für Konzerten, Lesungen, Theateraufführungen und Diskussions­runden. Diese Veranstaltungen werden von dem Verein Innenhofkultur organisiert.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf unserer Event Seite.

DIE GESCHICHTE VON FOR FOREST

Um was ist es bei der Kunstinstallation „FOR FOREST – Die ungebrochene Anziehungskraft der Natur“ gegangen?

Mit „FOR FOREST – Die ungebrochene Anziehungskraft der Natur“ wurde das 30.000 Zuschauer fassende Wörthersee Stadion in Klagenfurt am Wörthersee zum Schauplatz der Kunst und der Natur.

Inspiriert von der Zeichnung „Die ungebrochene Anziehungskraft der Natur“ (1970/71) von Max Peintner (geb. 1937) bespielte Klaus Littmann vom 08. September bis zum 27. Oktober 2019 das Stadion. Das Spielfeld wurde gänzlich von 299 Bäumen in Besitz genommen. Von den Rängen aus konnten die Zuschauer das Baumspektakel Tag und Nacht – bei Natur- oder Flutlicht im Stadion – bestaunen. Das Projekt verstand sich als Mahnmal dafür, dass die Selbstverständlichkeit der Natur eines Tages nur noch in ihren speziell zugewiesenen Gefäßen zu bestaunen sein könnte, wie das bereits heute etwa mit Tieren im Zoo der Fall ist.

Das gesamte Stadion wurde für zwei Monate zum Gesamtkunstwerk und sensibilisierte ein breites Publikum bei freiem Eintritt für Ökologie, Kunst, Natur und Künstlichkeit. Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem nur scheinbar Selbstverständlichen führte nicht nur zu einem ungewöhnlichen Hinter­fragen der eigenen Position, sondern zu einem Diskurs über Sein oder Nichtsein.

„Die Natur selbst ist ein großes Gesamtkunstwerk. Also kann man ihr auch ein kleines widmen.“ (Klaus Littmann)

Wer hat das Projekt initiiert?

Das Projekt geht auf die Initiative des Künstlers und internationalen Vermittlers zeitgenössischer Kunst Klaus Littmann (Littmann Kulturprojekte: www.klauslittmann.com) zurück. Klaus Littmann sah die Bleistiftzeichnung „Die ungebrochene Anziehungskraft der Natur“ von Max Peintner (geb. 1937) erstmals vor über 30 Jahren und trug seither die Idee zur Realisierung dieser beeindruckenden Dystopie mit sich.

Wie wurde der Wald naturgetreu umgesetzt?

Für die Bäume im Fußballstadion und die Gestaltung des Waldes zeichnete sich die Enea GmbH aus Rapperswil/Schweiz verantwortlich. Enea Landscape Architecture ist ein weltweit herausragendes Unternehmen für Landschaftsarchitektur und spezialisiert darauf, maßgeschneiderte Garten- / Parkanlagen im privaten und öffentlichen Bereich zu realisieren. Der Forst hat nach dem Vorbild der Farben und Texturen des Kärntner Mischwaldes gestaltet und dafür 299 Bäume (8 – 14m hoch) aus ausgewählten Baumschulen für das Kunstprojekt gefunden. Diese Bäume waren speziell auf das Verpflanzen vorbereitet, da sie in den Baumschulen alle 4 bis 5 Jahre für diesen Vorgang verschult wurden.

Welche Baumarten wurden im Stadion gestellt?

Enzo Enea hat 16 Baumarten für FOR FOREST ausgewählt:

Wie wurde die Installation technisch umgesetzt?

Vor Beginn der eigentlichen Installation wurden zum Schutz des Stadionrasens vollflächig Lastverteilungsplatten verlegt. Die Bäume wurden entsprechend dem Entwurf von Enzo Enea mit den ballierten Wurzelballen aufgestellt und mittels Spanngurte auf eine Holzkonstruktion gesichert. Zwischen den Bäumen wurde ein authentischer Waldboden modelliert.